[Contact Us][Home]  English   Français


Advanced search

Construction Workers EU

OSHA Campaign

Stop social dumping



Bricklayer LLP

Paritarian Funds

Posting workers

A few years after the European Economic Community was established, the building and woodworking unions from the then six-nation Community which belonged to the IFBWW (the International Federation of Building and Woodworkers – now called BWI) decided to set up a consultative body. In the autumn of 1958, the creation of the Joint European Committee for the Building and Woodworking Sectors became a reality. It was given responsibility for promoting the interests of building and woodworkers on all social and economic problems which may arise in the building and woodworking sector as a consequence of European integration.
On the occasion of the first General Assembly held in Salerno (Italy) on 5 May 1974, it was decided that the Joint Committee of Building and Woodworkers in the EEC would become the European Federation of Building and Woodworkers in the Community (EFBWWC). Two Industry Committees were set up within the organisation, one for woodworking and one for the building sector.
The Constitution was amended in 1983 to obtain recognition by the ETUC. One of these changes was the removal of the words "in the Community" from the organisation's name. In 1984 the European Federation of Building and Woodworkers (EFBWW) was officially recognised by the ETUC.
In 1981 a permanent Secretariat was established in Brussels, with a General Secretary and one administrative employee. Since that time, the Secretariat has expanded to comprise 4 policy secretaries and 4 administrative staff.
As from 1989 other trade union organisations could also become affiliates of the EFBWW. And from 1991 organisations from non-EU countries could join too, such as Switzerland (1991); Iceland and Norway (1992); and Turkey (1993-2001).
Since 2004 trade union organisations from central and eastern European countries and new EU member states (i.e. Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia) have become member of the EFBWW.

In 2008 the EFBWW counted 74 affiliated organisations from 30 countries with a total number of approx. 2 350 000 members.

For more information on the EFBWW history please consult the brochure below.

Download the English version.
Download French version.
Download German version.
Download Italian version.
Download Spanish version.
Download Danish version.
Download Dutch version.

Find related articles on this subject
EFBWW Presidents
Emile Janssens
André Vanden Broucke
Juan Fernandez
Albert Williams
Bruno Köbele
Ove Bengtsberg
Ernst-Ludwig Laux
(acting president - 2003)
Arne Johansen
Domenico Pesenti
Dietmar Schäfers
EFBWW General Secretaries
Enrico Kirschen
(1981 - 1988)
Jan Cremers
(1989 - 1999)
Harrie Bijen
(2000 - 2007)
Sam Hägglund
(2008 - ...)